What to do Before Traditions

Well, seems I’ve been away for a bit, but the exciting news that I have for y’all is that I’m finally in Disney! I moved in on Monday and have spent a few days having oh so much fun. Although, this is definitely an interesting time because we’re here but haven’t gotten our IDs yet so we can’t go to the parks. I’m here if, like me, you were figuring out some things to do and needed a bit of inspiration 🙂

  1. Take a loop around the parks/resorts on the monorail – Unlike Disneyland and DCA in California, you do not need a park ticket to get on or off the monorail. This is a super fun and relaxing thing to do, especially if you go resort hopping all day and want to sit for a while.
  2. Resort hopping – Let’s be real, after you can get into the parks, what’s the chances you’re going to want to spend a whole day at the resorts? Probably not a lot. But now is a great time to do so because the DCP buses go to all of the resorts and you can walk around them all you want, no check-in needed.
  3. Pin-trading – I might be slightly biased, but this has been one of my favorite things to do. Pairing it with resort hopping works out super well, because every gift shop and front desk at the resorts is bound to have trading pins, all you have to do is ask.
  4. Visit Disney Springs – The recently remodeled Disney Springs is a great place to spend a few hours meandering around. It’s super huge, so if you want to get to all of it you’ll need at least three or four hours.
  5. Ride the ferry – I haven’t gotten on the one at the Seven Seas Lake yet, but there’s also a boat ride that runs between the Port Orleans resorts and Disney Springs. Super fun, a nice relaxing way to spend some time not walking if your feet are getting tired.
  6. Go to housing events – There will undoubtedly be a welcome event at some point during the week you arrive. Today there’s an event at our complex called Jambo, and I’m super interested to see what it’s about. I know there will definitely be food and characters and fun, so I’m excited to go.
  7. Visit Universal – I know, I know, it’s the forbidden word (not really haha). But, just in case you’re wondering you can get a super sweet deal on a pass to Universal with the Florida resident discount. The most basic pass is about $280, which would pay for itself if you park hopped on two different days, because park hopper tickets are $155 apiece.

And there you have it, a couple of things to get you started and keep you entertained while you wait for traditions and your magical ID. As always, if you have any questions, drop them down below in the comments section and I’ll be happy to help you out. Have a lovely day, and I’ll see ya real soon 🙂

Author: Rebecca Leahy

Hey, my name's Rebecca. I am college senior who blogs in my off time. According to my friends, I also take far too many pictures and sing Disney songs just a little too often. but hey, whatever makes life interesting.

Leave a Reply

