The Stages of the DCP Application Proccess

  1. Realizing there is such a thing as the Disney college program. For me, this stage came my freshman year of high school, and I’ve been obsessed with it ever since. In the spirit of full disclosure, I did manage to forget about it for my first semester at college because so much life change was going on, but I quickly jumped back on the bandwagon.
  2. Becoming eligible for the program. AKA, as soon as you complete your first semester. At this point, you have a sudden realization: I CAN WORK FOR DISNEY NOW.
  3. Actually applying. This is the fun part where you enter information and try to convince Disney you’d be a great fit for the program. This one has three stages:
    1. The basic application that opens up the interview stages.
    2. The web-based interview
    3. The (dreaded) phone interview
  4. Waiting. Or, if you’d prefer a more dramatic title, the utter horror of silence and uncertainty stemming from the Walt Disney Corporation taking their sweet time to accept or deny you. This is the point where you refresh your email every day (sometimes every hour) to see if you got that confirmation email. You beg and plead to any deity you believe in that they’ll accept you, and go over your phone interview with a fine-toothed comb to see if there was anything you screwed up. Which makes you convinced you bombed the interview and they’ll never hire you. During this time, you will also immerse yourself in everything DCP you can possibly find. You’ll watch endless amounts of vlogs (that all end up blending together at some point), consider starting one yourself, join every single Facebook group for your program, and read every blog post you can possibly find.
  5. The Moment. You know which moment I’m talking about. The one where you find an email sent from the magical mouse that holds your fate in question. Your heart drops. You can’t believe your eyes, checking it once, twice, three times to make sure. YOU’VE BEEN ACCEPTED! CONGRATULATIONS!

If you’d like, my lovely sister-in-law and I have illustrated these stages in one of the videos on my Youtube channel. You can check it out here. Also, as a perk of reading my blog, you get access to the rest of the lip-syncing that she and I did that got cut from the video. View that footage here.

Author: Rebecca Leahy

Hey, my name's Rebecca. I am college senior who blogs in my off time. According to my friends, I also take far too many pictures and sing Disney songs just a little too often. but hey, whatever makes life interesting.

Leave a Reply

