My Latest Disney Trip: Day 1

Why hello there! Fancy seeing you again.

I figured it would be quite fun to recount some of my favorite memories of my most recent Disney trip, which was to Disneyland and California Adventure last year in December.

Day 1
Our first day in the parks, I had decided to dress up as Ariel in her date outfit and my friend Cassy was to be my trusty sidekick Sebastian. So, I set my alarm for 6:30 am to get ready so that we could be in the park for the Extra Magic hours since our tickets included them. Unfortunately enough for the people sleeping in the same room as me, I left my phone on the Arizona time zone and the alarm went off at 5:30 am instead. Oops. Went back to sleep for about forty-five minutes and then actually got up at the right time to get ready.

Our first stop of the day was Space Mountain at Disneyland because we knew that the lines would be super long later in the day. It was also one of the only fast-paced rides that Cassy could ride due to her heart issues, so she and I went on together. It was great to beat the lines and hop right on the ride in 10-15 minutes. If your tickets include Extra Magic hours, definitely use them! It’s worth it.

After that, we headed over to the Dumbo ride and indulged our inner little kids a bit. Once we exited the ride, we immediately spotted Peter Pan just around the corner and had to go take a picture with him as he’s such a great character to interact with.

Disneyland-23
Ariel and Sebastian pose with Peter.

Our next plan was to head over to California Adventure to go get fast passes for the World of Color show later that night. On our way out of the park, two random girls stopped me and asked for a picture with me, which was kinda cool and strange at the same time. They also wanted Cassy as well once we told them who she was. As soon as we headed into DCA, a PhotoPass photographer also stopped us and wanted to do a mini-photoshoot with Cass and I. She was so bubbly and fun, it was great and the photos turned out fantastic. #CelebrityStatus.

Disneyland-170
The photographer even got a dinglehopper from a nearby restaurant to complete the look.

Anywho, we popped on over to California Adventure to get the tickets and had planned to return to Disneyland to go visit characters, but I got distracted by all of the fun rides and adventures. We visited Soarin’ Over California, rode Mickey’s Fun Wheel, I got a fast pass for California Screamin’ since Cass couldn’t come with me (sad face), and then we also went on the Jumpin’ Jellyfish, the Golden Zephyr, Little Mermaid, Ariel’s Undersea Adventure, and the Silly Symphony Swings.

Disneyland-125
Fun times on the Jumpin’ Jellyfish

For lunch we stopped by Corn Dog Castle and purchased two corndogs as well as took a look around for pins and souvenirs the might be of interest to us. Following lunch, we took a ride on Grizzly River Run and then hopped over to Tower of Terror so I could get a pass for later. We noticed two PhotoPass photographers hanging out around the corner and asked what was happening, and they told us Frozone and Mrs. Incredible were headed our way, so we got in line and collected some autographs from them.

Disneyland-195

Afterwards, out feet had been getting tired, so we decided to take a ride on the monorail around the entire track to rest our feet and get a bird’s eye view of the park. When we got to Disneyland, we actually had to get off and then get in line to get back on, so while we were there we stopped by Autopia since the monorail is right next to it.

Disneyland-133
Selfies are allowed as long as the car is on a track right? 😉

Then we got back on the monorail to return to California Adventure for the night. As we approached the gates to re-enter DCA, Cass suggested she hold onto my bag for a while as well as my camera, so I handed them over to her. Walking back into the park, we were stopped by two other PhotoPass photographers who said they’d seen the pictures their co-worker took earlier in the day and that they’d been looking for me all day to say how awesome the pictures looked. I thanked them for the compliment and turned back around to see my boyfriend who I hadn’t seen the whole day because he was hanging out with his friends.

He took me from there and his sister headed off in a different direction. We sat down in the little gazebo area on Paradise Pier to talk for a bit. He then lead me down to the promenade where people gather to watch World of Color. With the sun setting and Mickey’s Fun Wheel lit in the background, he dropped to one knee and asked me to marry him.

Disneyland-96

I can’t say it was a complete surprise because I’m a perceptive person and he gets too excited about things to keep them a secret, but it was very magical nonetheless. Our family came out right after to congratulate us, and even my parents and grandmother had flown in from Texas that morning to come celebrate. My now-fiancé (whose name is Isaac by the way) had made reservations for Ariel’s Grotto for dinner just afterwards, and we headed over there to hang out and let everything sink in. I was too excited to eat anything, though I did try a little bit of food. Disney gave us the bride and groom Minnie and Mickey ears as well as a custom dessert, which made the night even more amazing.

Disneyland-139Disneyland-143

Our dinner included VIP tickets to World of Color, so our family walked that way to get some seats while I and a few friends hopped on California Screamin’ for a quick ride. And, of course, they decided to yell to the whole crowd waiting in line that I’d just got engaged, which turned me a nice shade of pink at all the attention.

World of Color was amazing, especially since it was customized for the Christmas season. Following the show, Isaac, our friends, and I all headed back over the Disneyland for one or two last rides since DCA was closing first. We hopped on Star Tours since the line was super terribly long, but only after snagging a few churros first.

All in all, our first day of this particular Disney trip was full of magic and memories and one I won’t be forgetting for quite some time.

Tune in soon for day two of my Disney trip 🙂

P.S. Here’s the highlight video of our trip!

Author: Rebecca Bryant

Hey, my name's Rebecca. I am recent college grad who blogs in my off time. According to my friends, I also take far too many pictures and sing Disney songs just a little too often. but hey, whatever makes life interesting.

Leave a Reply

